I've been doing some editing over on Wikipedia since February this year. I started doing some edits to the existing ezboard entry firstly to remove the unsubstantiated bits and bobs and then to remove the advertising spin being applied to it by various ezboard staff and one user in particular calling himself "Regimemachine".
I then realised that Yuku didn't have its own entry, so I started one off. So conscious was I that it had to be unbiased and verifiable, that once I'd posted the original version another user wrote:
"Is this Spam? Looks like spam."
But that was not to be the case, with the usual suspects trying to turn it into some form of advertisement for Yuku complete with unsubstantiated claims for user numbers and the like.
Now, bear in mind that Wikipedia states:
"Wikipedia is not an advertising service. Promotional articles about yourself, your friends, your company or products; or articles written as part of a marketing or promotional campaign, may be deleted in accordance with our deletion policies. For more information, see Wikipedia:Spam."
and
"Encyclopedic content must be verifiable."
you'd think that ezboard, Inc. wouldn't have anything to complain about. But this is ezboard, so their employee writes amongst other things:
"See the discussion page. Every other software lists features. We have the right to do the same.) "
Er, no, you don't, actually. If ezboard felt that other software entries were biased or advertising, they should dispute those articles' contents. But no, instead of that, they decide to complain about me and claim I'm being biased.
"Regimemachine" - or "Reg" as I'll call him from now on - seems upset that I've been using his made-up surname 'James' as I'd wrongly assumed that the name he uses on Yuku and elsewhere ("Brian James") might be his real name, but it's not. Maybe he has something to hide?
He's then used the mighty power of the Internet (or Google...) to try to dig a little deeper about me and then proudly spouts some more inaccurate information he's managed to come up with. Ah well.
I am clearly - in his eyes at least - a nasty piece of work, unlike himself. After all, he's a thoroughly nice chap, I'm sure. And the following hyperlinks are clearly misleading and inaccurate:
http://www.last.fm/user/regimemachine/ - which shows his "made-up" name of Brian James and a domain name he uses...
http://www.regimemachine.com/ - a domain name that's registered so as to hide the identity of the registrant (much like http://www.ezboardsucks.com). Not much to see there ... now. Instead, try seeing what used to be there.
http://www.google.com/search?q=+site:www.regimemachine.com - take a look at Google's cached copies of some of the content that was there. Oh dear! That must all be mistake, surely? Well it appears he too is on Technorati.
http://technorati.com/profile/regimemachine - oh dear, oh dear! Surely that "regimemachine" can't be our Reg? OK, so he too calls himself Brian James, but that must be coincedental? He lays claim to three blogs there: regimemachine.com, fuckthisporn.com and stopliving.com. I wouldn't click through to stopliving.com if I were you unless you want to see some somewhat dodgy photographs...
Mind you, given the extent to which ezboard read this blog and act to try to hide what I mention here, I doubt it'll be long before those sites and links either disappear or have the content replaced with fluffy kittens.